Clinical fellowship

University of Chicago Medical Center

University of Chicago Medical Center · Chicago, United States · Cardiothoracic Anesthesia · Thoracic Anesthesia · Pediatric Anesthesia · Obstetric Anesthesia · Critical Care

Listed in SCA directory of ACGME-accredited adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology fellowships. Listed in ACGME pediatric anesthesiology program list AY2026-27 (SPA/PAPDA PDF). One obstetric fellow per year via SF Match. One-year ACGME critical care fellowship, 3 positions.

What the official source confirms

UChicago's own pages for obstetric, adult cardiothoracic, pediatric and critical care fellowships were read and corroborate the batch note about SF Match, one obstetric fellow and three critical care positions. Visa or international-applicant policy is not stated on any of them. The 'thoracic-anesthesia' sub is covered only within the adult cardiothoracic page (thoracic ICU/OR rotations); no standalone thoracic fellowship page was read. Cardiothoracic position count is internally inconsistent on the page (two vs three). Pain medicine page exists but is out of scope.

Source-reported details. Availability, registration and eligibility must be confirmed with the host.

Pathway
Clinical fellowship
Duration
Adult Cardiothoracic: one year. Pediatric: one year (ACGME-accredited). Critical Care: one year (ACGME). Obstetric: not explicitly stated (a separate two-year dual obstetric/critical care fellowship is mentioned).
Positions
Obstetric: one per year. Pediatric: one per year. Critical care: three per year. Adult cardiothoracic: page conflicts with itself (two in one section, three in another).
Deadline
Obstetric: applications for the July 2027 position stated to open in January 2026; no closing date. Other pages: not stated.
Funding
Salary not stated. Pediatric page lists benefits (USD 1,500 educational allowance, 20 vacation days, 5 education leave days, optional moonlighting).
International
Not confirmed — see official source
Programme lead
Not confirmed — see official source
Exposure
Cardiothoracic: about 500 adult cardiac cases per year, six months adult CT OR, one month thoracic, one month CICU, one month echo, two weeks perfusion. Critical care: CT ICU 3 months, surgical/trauma ICU 3 months, plus MICU, neuro ICU and electives. Pediatric: Comer Children's (about 4,000 cases per year), PICU and NICU one month each, two one-month rotations at Lurie Children's (cardiac and pain). Obstetric: tertiary referral, high-risk population, SICU, MFM and NICU one month each.
Eligibility
Pediatric: ACGME-accredited anesthesiology residency, ABA board-eligible or certified by start, Illinois licence before start. Obstetric/cardiothoracic/critical care: no explicit criteria beyond required scores and letters.
Application route
San Francisco Match for all four pages read. Obstetric: SF Match plus Obstetric Anesthesiology Common Application, USMLE/ITE/Basic scores and three letters. Pediatric: CV, USMLE Steps I-III, Basic scores, three letters. Contact acc-education@bsd.uchicago.edu.
Evidence status
Dated checks: see field-level evidence below · source
Official source ↗

Field-level source checks

Only the fields below were checked in this review. Other original review dates remain unchanged.

  • duration · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: duration
  • positions · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: positions
  • eligibility · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: eligibility
  • application Route · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: application route
  • deadline · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: deadline
  • funding · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: funding
  • exposure · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: exposure
  • applicant Sections · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: applicant sections
  • source Scope Note · 2026-11-02 · Official source — Official fellowship page: source scope note

Official source snapshot

Automated reachability check on 2026-10-29. This check does not verify every programme fact.

Source response
Responded (HTTP 200)
Published page title
Obstetric Anesthesiology Fellowship
Official page
Open source ↗

Names detected by automation are held for manual review and are not published as faculty until the role and identity are confirmed from an official institution page.

Programme directors named on the page

Obstetric: Chad Dean, M.D.; Cardiothoracic: Danisa Daubenspeck, DO; Pediatric: Leili Khorassani, M.D.; Critical care: Allison Dalton, MD (Obstetric: Interim Section Chief and OB Anesthesia Fellowship Program Director; Cardiothoracic: Program Director; Pediatric: Program Director; Critical care: Fellowship Program Director and Vice-Chair of Education)

Official source · Field review 2026-11-02

Plan your enquiry

Confirm the clinical scope, supervision, registration and recognition of the exact appointment before applying.

Questions unresolved in this profile

  • Which immigration routes are accepted, and does the host provide sponsorship?

Application document checklist · Check the current intake

Compare related records in United States

  • Mayo Clinic · Cardiothoracic Anesthesia · Regional Anesthesia · Pain Medicine · Critical Care · Pediatric Anesthesia · Obstetric Anesthesia · Neuroanesthesia
  • Massachusetts General Hospital · Cardiothoracic Anesthesia · Critical Care · Pain Medicine · Pediatric Anesthesia · Obstetric Anesthesia · Regional Anesthesia · Neuroanesthesia
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital · Cardiothoracic Anesthesia · Regional Anesthesia · Pain Medicine · Critical Care · Obstetric Anesthesia